26 inch gravel / do it all tire options

Dear educated smart people

First of all lots of love to the creators - we did the same thing with discourse for the bike polo community, amazing stuff :slight_smile:

Sooo I am a complete noob who wants to build five mini gravels with 26 inch wheels for smaller people (if someone wants to tell me why smaller wheels for smaller people isnĀ“t a thing please enlighten me)
Checking out tire options its looking pretty shit thoughā€¦IĀ“d love some slick tires, ideally tubeless and around 42mm wide, not too light and not too heavy. For a proper comfy do it all bike thats going to be used on roads mostly.

Seems like between wire bead conti contact speeds and 74 dolla rene herse naches passes there is nothing in 26 inch. Please tell me im wrong :slight_smile:
Id also love to discuss the idea of the bike in general, really dont get why it isnt done more often. Cuz for anything thats going to be used on tarmac mostly anything slacker than 73 degrees just feels unnecessarily sluggish to me and 700cs on small frames just f your geometry choicesā€¦especially with bigger tires.

<3 cheers

some noob

6 Likes

Seems like 26" is now for utility type bikes or touring bikes. Youā€™ll mostly find heavier tires from Schwalbe, Vittoria, and Continental in the 26x1.75 or 26x1.5 sizes. If you want performance, go with the Rene Herse.

It makes perfect sense to use 26" tires for smaller drop bar bikes. Itā€™s just not popular, so tire makers donā€™t offer good performance options.

2 Likes

My 26er has Billy Bonkers, itā€™s a good tire for gravel and you can find it around $45-50.

I agree that tire choices for 26in wheels is diminishing and I fear it will continue to do so.
There are some options from China if you are up to it.

1 Like

Schwalbe used to have some high performance 26in tires:

I canā€™t find any that meet your need thought, but I didnā€™t look too deep.