316 tube for a seatstay - bad idea?

I have been admiring some of the wishbone seat stays that have been posted. I’m currently researching materials for a stainless steel frame to build. Instead of using xcr tubes for the seatstay, is there any reason to not try bending some 10mm 316 stainless tube. I understand heat from brazing it will weaken it to an extent. Will this be a problem or has this been successfully done before?

2 Likes

@IvanV Welcome!

There is definitely some mystique to stainless steel in frame building. I have a lot of questions about it too…

I am not a materials expert, but I can take a crack at this question:

316 Stainless has tensile strength around 600MPa. In comparison, 4130 bike tubing is roughly 900MPa, and fancy bike tubing like velospec and Reynolds 853 (which are basically identical) are ~1100-1200MPa.

All steels have similar stiffnesses (modulus of elasticity) of 200GPa

I know many people use 12.7x.09 (.5x.035in) 4130 seat stays with no problem. If you use that as a baseline, then I think you would want to use >12.7mm for stainless seatstays to maintain strength parity. That being said, a rider’s weight/riding style or a builder’s fabrication technique will probably contribute more to strength than the seatstay diameter.

I am also curious how these bike tubing companies end up with these magical stainless alloys with amazing mechanical properties (1400MPa!):

@englishcycles is the skinny stainless SS expert, hopefully, he can chime in with his thoughts.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CuEJv_ROEIc/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link&igshid=MzRlODBiNWFlZA==

3 Likes

It would be helpful if you provide a bit more information about the build:

• use case
  • rider size/weight
  • CS construction/dims
  • intended brake method (disc vs rim)

e.g. a track bike for a 130lb rider is different than an all-road for a 160lb rider.

1 Like