3D Modeling Feedback

Hi All,

I’ve been modeling a frame that I’m planning to have 3d-printed in Titanium and I would love some feedback on the work I’ve done. I’m not formally trained in Solidworks/CAD and have just tried to learn from Youtube and online resources. I’m sure I have a lot of bad habits, so any feedback is appreciated.

Anthony
bottombracket_v3.STEP (1.9 MB)
wishbone.STEP (948.5 KB)
seattube_cluster_v2.STEP (1.3 MB)
DropoutV4.STEP (1004.3 KB)
headtube_v3.STEP (1.2 MB)

3 Likes

The goal is a fixed-gear frame that can:

1. Take a 55T chainring
  2. Clear 35c tires
  3. Has race-y geometry and can accommodate my proportions

2 Likes

Nice work! Especially considering you were self-taught Solidworks. I really like the dropouts, I think they are really well designed.

I think the BB could use some tweaking. It is probably unintentional, but the BB has a really solid chunk:

As drawn, the BB lug is $3000 print! I would look into the solidworks shell tool, that is probably the best way to create a hollow structure.

For titanium, I suggest around 1.5mm wall thickness. Every printer and every part is different, but I feel 1.5mm is conservative enough without testing.

What chainline are you using for the drivetrain and tire clearance?

1 Like

Thanks! Yeah the BB chunk is something that I was hoping they could work out using some gyroid infill or something like that – not exactly sure how I want to go about removing material there, as I don’t want to create any weak points in the BB.

The chainline is standard track: 42mm from BB center to chainring center. I didn’t want to make the chainstays longer than 400mm, so that’s another constraint. I’m designing around a ROTOR ALDHU crankset which is also quite close to the BB. Overall, there should be around 6mm between the back of the crankset and the BB/Chainstay wall.

1 Like

Very nice, well done.