90 degree HTA with negative fork offset

Sorry if asked and answered, don’t know just how to find this niche question:

I understand trail, offset, and head tube angle (HTA), and the article at The Angle: Head Tube Angle – The Cycling Independent argues that we’ve boiled into ~72 degrees based on trial and error, but I’m trying to understand, ignoring other impacts on geometry (like the toe strike and handlebars being too far away, etc.) what if you had a 90 degree HTA and negative fork offset so you maintained the same mechanical trail as a 72 degree HTA with a normal fork offset?

In short, is it really trail that matters and HTA and fork offset are just ways of getting the 50-70mm trail we want, or does having the ~72 degree HTA help with how the steering handles, too?

Thanks,
Adam

2 Likes

I’m no expert, but I think wheel flop has something to do with it. Picture a shopping trolley with (wobbly) castors - these have a certain amount of trail, but as they rotate on the steering axis the wheel and “headset” stay the same vertical distance from the ground and each other. Now picture a 1 deg head angle - the wheel will drop dramatically downwards as you steer, and you’ll have to hold the weight of the bike and yourself up by the handlebars.

The 72 deg magic number gives a small amount of flop, enough to give your hands a sense of being centred (from the weight pushing downwards and to the side, not from pointing forwards) but without needing a significant effort to hold it upright. I’m sure there’s more to it than that, but it’s certainly one important aspect. Sure you could make a rideable machine with a 90 deg HT, but it wouldn’t feel “right”.

2 Likes

This is an interesting thought experiment. A quick lookup yielded this thing:

Heres another relevant link, although by motorcyclists:

My intuition says the bike wouldnt ride well hands free with a 90° HA, but otherwise be fine

4 Likes