A DIY Tig Pulser

Hello everyone, a couple of months ago I started playing with the idea of building a tig pulser for my tig machine, something to go inline with the pedal.

Well, I sent a picture a month ago or so and now I have the semi-final version that works!

I will eventually start putting together some docs on how to replicate this BUT, I have concerns about trying to replicate something electronically while not understanding it so, for now, let me give you a high level overview, if someone is working on one or needs help, I am here.

The goal was to intercept my pedal signal and pulse it, my Everlast uses a 0-5V signal so, as long as you provide a 0-5V input into the machine, the amperage will follow. Note that:
0V = full power
5V = no power

The hardware that I choose is overkill but there is nothing really cheaper unless you start buying copies from China (totally doable just didn’t wanted to wait weeks for shipping)

I have used:

1. Adafruit QtPy 2040 - it’s a dual core powerhouse but most importantly, it works with 5V inputs
  2. DAC/ADC - to convert digital signals to analog ones and viceversa
  3. Display - To show what is going on
  4. Rotary Encoder - To select the various options
  5. 7pin male-female connectors - same as my Everlast welder

Total of about ~$100 if you consider the breadboards, connectors, etc - It could be done much cheaper

Next step would be to 3D print an enclosure but maybe not, depending on how the test run will go, for now it seems to work fine.

Note: Turns out my welder doesn’t put out enough juice to power this little trinket, I can power everything except the display that seems it’s missing a few milliamps to be workable - so, for the time being I am powering this via a power bank while it’s connected to the machine

9 Likes

Super cool!! This sort of thing will be really valuable for a lot of folks. Feel free to reach out if you have any electrical questions, I was an electrical engineer in my past life.

1 Like