Bottle bosses using rivnuts

Hey all,

I am a beginner/hobbyist builder and am currently building my second bike ever, a gravelbike. The first one i built was a mountainbike where i didnt include any bottle bosses. The project had already taken up too much time and i was just trying to get it finished.
However this time i am trying to make the frame a little more, well better in every way. And as it happens to be a gravel bike, it really should have a way to mount bottle cages.
From what i’ve gathered, from this forum and most other resources, is that most people braze their bottle bosses in.
However i dont have a brazing setup and dont know anyone near me who does, or would be willing to quickly braze some bottle bosses. I tried looking to see if welding them in would be a reasonable option, but i didnt find much information.
Then i found this article; Rivnut Bottle Cage Mounts, Installation and Test - BIKEPACKING.com
I was wondering if someone has experince using rivet nuts in bike frames, or what it would mean for the frame if the bottle bosses were welded in? I seem to have the idea in my head that that would make the downtube weaker?

2 Likes

I would avoid it because there is a better workaround. But they are common practice on lower end mass market steel bikes and every aluminum bike uses a version of RivNuts. I installed a set in an aluminum frame and they have always made me nervous.

I was in your situation when I started building and bought a craft detail Mapp torch to do my bosses. It worked great for the job. I also tried with a regular propane plumbers torch but the heat wasn’t focused enough.

This is the torch I used.

I also think this would be better

RTMMFG Oxygen MAPP Torch Kit Portable Cylinder Metal Stand, for Soldering, Brazing, Sparker, Protection glass, Extra nozzle(Gas Cylinders Not Included) Amazon.com

4 Likes