Cargo Bike BBSHD

Hi everyone. Cargo bikes seem to be all the rage these days. I decided to make an electrified one for my wife. The bike is inspired by Bilenky cargo bikes. It’s a little heavy, I used straight gauge .035” 4130 chromoly for everything except the rear triangle (Columbus stays) and the downtube (1.625” .058”). The headtubes are 44mm. Bullmoose bars are .875” .049”. Also installed a Bafang BBSHD mid drive motor.
Overall the bike rides well and the BBSHD mid drive is more than adequate.

Added a 6mm threaded bung to the downtube and fabricated an aluminum dog bone to prevent the Bafang motor from spinning.

6 Likes

A few more

7 Likes

Looks really good, nice job!

Out of curiosity, what made you go with the Bafang motor over any other option? I am new to e bikes and don’t really know anything about the various drive units.

I have installed a bunch of front and rear hub motor kits in the past but never a mid drive. The BBSHD gets a lot of good reviews so I was curious to try one. The next Ebike I make will be with a hub motor. The BBSHD is great but expensive as far these DIY kits go.

3 Likes

Chapeau!

2 Likes

Great job! I love the front rack’s shape. The curve makes a big difference.

Do you find the vertical steerer tube feels weird when rotating the bars?

1 Like

Other than looking a little weird it does not take any getting used to all. The bike handles normal, although the steering has a limit due to the linkage. It was a fun project.

1 Like

So so sick!

As far as mid-drive units go I know a few shops doing e-conversions who’ve been very impressed by the latest CYC PHOTON drive unit. Not sure how they compare to the BBSHD directly but might be worth a look if you make another bike like this. Personally I would love to see V2.

1 Like