Design critique - 3DP Flat Mount Fork Bosses

Hey all!

I am in the process of making some steel segmented forks with flat mount bosses. I got partway through making one, but was sketched out by how much material I had to remove from the fork blade. I decided to go back to the drawing board to design a more robust solution. This is what I came up with:

This idea definitely needs a bit of refinement and some DFM tweaks for additive manufacturing, but the overarching goal is to minimize the hole that is cut into the fork blade and to maximize the amount of surface contact the boss has with the blade.

I’d love to hear any thoughts on how feasible/practical y’all think this is.

2 Likes

I think you could use a piece of round bar stock and accomplish the same thing. You would be taking a bigger bite out of the fork blade, but then replacing that void with a fairly chunky piece. Disclaimer: I’m not an engineer, I haven’t done the FEA, blah, blah, but I’d ride it.

2 Likes

That’s what I did for my first go around. I used 15.9mm diameter 1018 stock which is beefy as heck but got a bit spooked with how much material I removed from the blade. Maybe I’m overthinking this and it is totally fine!

1 Like

It’s weird, we are completely comfortable with a weld or braze on a dropout/forkblade, but as soon as there’s anything else on the blade, we get (over)cautious. I guess it’s human nature not to want to faceplant.

4 Likes

Looks like a very printable part. It would probably be printed face-down. You might want to add an extra .5-1mm to the face so you have more margin to machine them flat.

Are these going to be brazed or TIG?

If brazed, I think there is a design solution where you have a flange that reinforces the slot. The flange could help distribute the force more gradually over a larger area. Its also easier to braze. Here is a REALLY rough sketch: