Edelstaal mill compatibility?

All,

There is an Edelstaal knee mill for sale in my town that I’d like to get IF it’s compatible with other equipment and accessories etc. Does anyone know if the generally available mitering fixtures, vices etc. will go on such a mill? Is it like a Bridgeport knock-off or something?

Also the tray/table deal is way to long and would like to get a much shorter one if possible…

thanks and sorry for my total ignorance, ha!

1 Like

I have no personal experience with this brand, but a little bit of snooping shows that it’s a Bridgeport clone made in Austria by UNIMAT, which is considered high quality.
It uses R8 collets, so spindle tooling is no problem. Any tooling should be accommodated on the table or in a vise. If the price is right, and it’s local, don’t worry about the length of the table, you’ll fill it up!

5 Likes

Hey, thanks this is extremely helpful!!! I also just consulted an engineer friend and since the Edelstaal unit I’m looking at is 3 phase 220, he said I’d have to get a $1,500 phase rotary phase converter or some such to make this work in my home garage.

So now I’m wondering the worth of such an endeavor…

Modern electrics no longer require a rotary phase converter. They are probably still the best solution, but there are static converters available, possibly for less. Do a Google search, or is any one reading this that has static converter experience or advice?

1 Like

I did this with my Bridgeport. Phase converter from Amazon. About $90.

Edit: this is the one I used.
Single Phase to 3 Phase Converter, MYSWEETY AC 220V/2.2KW 3HP 10A VFD Inverter Frequency Converter for Spindle Motor Speed Control (1 Phase Input and 3 Phase Output) https://a.co/d/gwYZ7fO

4 Likes