First BMX frame

Hi all, new to this form.

Just wanting some advice from anyone who has experience building a BMX frame, or similar bike frame.

I want to fabricate a 20" BMX frame out of chromoly steel, as a prototype to see if I can make one to high enough quality to sell, and potentially start a custom bike company.

I’m having trouble with the dimensions of the chromoly though, and thought maybe someone here could help, or at least give me some insight.

I need:
Ideal wall thickness, Ideal Overall Diameter, and a rough estimate of what length/s I should order the steel in.

Keep in mind, I’ll need the frame to maintain a decent strength-to-weight ratio so that it’s lightweight and durable enough to be used for freestyle BMX.

I’m not an expert on BMX, but I also want to build a frame. Here’s what I’ve found out: There are BMX specific tubes available through @BikeFabSupply as well as from S&M Bikes. There is the opportunity for custom design through dropouts and other braces using laser cutting services like Send Cut Send. I know LairdFrame makes custom seat stay bridges on his bikes. Again, I’m not an expert, but this is the design I have cooked up. I do need to revise a few details, but this is how it should end up.

I don’t trust myself to make a BMX fork yet, so for that I’ll just swap the fork off of my current BMX bike.

2 Likes

Your questions are good but really, really general.
It is worth doing preliminary research and referencing “primary sources” and giving us all more context before posting.

I don’t mean to be harsh but there’s so many things that are driven by design, intended use, user, MFG capability, budget, etc. A specific answer w/out having specifics could be problematic for you.

It’s kind’ve like saying the following:
I want to put something together. What screws should I buy?