First frame build-along: review my thinking on carbon frame

Hey guys,
I’m a software engineering guy from Belgrade, and I love cycling. I decided do make a carbon frame, and I want to do this as a hobby project. My goal is to make a functional, and safe frame. It does not have to be pretty, I am not optimizing for the cost, I am optimizing for a fun and learning experience.

I was actually inspired by @Sideways_Viola, @Lester and @Pol. This forum seems like a great place to do a build-along, and get my thoughts peer reviewed.

I chose carbon because I started learning about composite materials just for fun and I’m really enjoy the topic, so it seems like building a carbon frame is a natural cross section with my passion for cycling. And it honestly looks like carbon fiber has a lower barrier to enter than welding! That is the only constraint, I am willing to change anything else based on your guys feedback!

The bike’s mission: I commute to work every day, and on weekends I like do to like 50km or 100km loops, away from the city. It’s usually all paved, or cracked pavement like 95% of the time. But in the summers I like to shred the hills of green Šumadija where you can’t avoid segments of doubletrack (with huge grain size). So I want to do an All-Road geometry, with big tire clearance.

Current design:

• I usually switch between 700x32 tires, and 700x47, so naturally I want to accommodate that bigger tire clearance with my new bike.
  • Rear axle - thru axle 12x142, as I already have a wheelset
  • BB86 - I want to go with pressfit, in order to minimize the need for carbon to metal bonding, as every carbon-to-metal bond is a possible failure point. I want to go with bb86 specifically, because it’s kinda wide, which I believe gives me more options when designing the chainstays.