Geometry critique

As a complete novice I was wondering if anyone could see some glaring mistakes in this proposed frame. I think I’ve included the neccesary dimensions at this stage in the process, including my own geometry (using PVD/RAD method) to give some context about my position on the bike. I have the means to fabricate a custom stem to get the fit right.

Bike Geo.pdf (46.4 KB)

PVD-RAD.pdf (38.4 KB)

Use case

Despite an aesthetic preference for mountain bikes, this will predominantly be ridden on road or on mild singletrack when bike touring. Given my space constraints this really has to be a do-everything bike and i’m aware that it will have to compromise in a number of areas to achieve that.

Parts pref.

• I designed this frame around the eXotic 110mm Boost Fork
  • I plan on using a flat bar
  • I can make my own stem but would prefer to buy it. I think the current length of the head tube will make this difficult
  • 29"
  • 175mm cranks

I also thought it might be cool to have a dedicated thread where novices could show prints of their proposed builds for critique, but as a novice myself i’m not so sure what the desired criteria for a print really is to make this worthwhile.

This drawing was made using @Daniel_Y fusion 360 tutorial so big thanks to him.

3 Likes

That reach is Haute Catagorie. You may have difficulty finding tubing that long and would probably want to run your stem backwards if that seattube length is correct. The CS length is quite short, you may need a special yoke depending on material, tire and chainring choices. 69* is steep for a 490mm crown to axle and 56mm is a lot of BB drop. This design pushes the envelope!

1 Like

If you’re mostly going to ride road and gravel why the huge reach/shortish chainstays? Weight balance is going to be wacky to say the least and it’ll corner terribly if you’re sitting back in the saddle just due to having no weight on the front wheel.