Help with potential 3D Printing project

Hey all! I’m pretty new in the ways of designing for additive manufacturing. I’ve been noodling on the idea of a front dropout that integrates flat mount bosses into the taper of a Columbus FBRN16T465DSK001 fork blade. I’d love thoughts on:

• If this is a good application for 3D printing
  • Smart methods of anchoring the FM caliper (maybe like the OPEN U.P. “U-Turn”?)
  • Methods to sculpt the part in F360 to make it look nice

Thanks!
-Eva

To add some more inspiration to the discussion:

BMC flat-mount design

Specialized Aethos Custom FM design

Source: Hands On Bike: Specialized Aethos: Front Brake Caliper Adapter and Disc Rotors

According to Specialized, the holes are closer than the usual flat mount standard, so that they can make the end section of the fork leg hollow, in order to save some weight. Not sure if it is worth it to make this non-standard design, when most other areas are standard.

Open Up U-turn:

The U-Turn is the first fork truly optimized for flatmount brakes. Standard flatmount front brakes include an adaptor to switch between 140mm and 160mm disc rotors. But nobody should ride 140mm rotors in the front, so it’s a feature without a benefit at the cost of weight, stiffness and complexity. The U-Turn’s Smartmount is a direct-mount with thru-bolts without adaptors, just like the rear brake. The position of the mount is adjusted to perfectly match 160mm rotors. Lighter, cleaner and safer.

I don’t design forks, so I don’t have an informed opinion, but a few general thoughts that come to mind:

• I don’t have enough data to recommend braizing that joint. Not saying it won’t work, I just don’t know!
  • generally, I try to design and print parts as short as possible:
    • less printed material = less chance of failure
    • shorter print time = less chance of print defect
    • part is cheaper (not a huge driving factor, but its a good practice)