Marketing for Builders

While I’ve been between shop spaces, I’ve been lucky to have a lot of time to think about marketing and how it applies to frame builders. I’ve also made a point to have as many conversations as possible with potential customers, distributors, and collaborators. A lot of this comes from my experience in the tech startup world which… can be a mixed bag :sweat_smile: I’m by no means an expert, so take this all with a grain of salt - hopefully it inspires something!

I’d love to hear any thoughts/responses/critiques y’all have!

TAM/SAM/SOM
This is the most “market-speak” item on the list, but it’s a pretty important baseline to think about and will feed into other ideas.

TAM: Total Available Market - Everyone who could conceivably use the product you’re offering. In our case, this would usually be the worldwide cycling market, but could also be extended further to anyone who could ride a bicycle. It could be more specific if, for example, you’re only selling mountain bikes or high-end road bikes.

SAM: Serviceable Available Market - The portion of the TAM that is feasibly reachable by your business. Maybe this is hyper-specific and local, mountain bike riders in Marin County for example. Or maybe it is more broad, you could be trying to go for all cyclists in the US.

SOM: Serviceable Obtainable Market - The portion of the SAM that has real demand for your product. This will be people with purchasing power for a custom/small-batch/locally made bike frame. These people will also be aware of and aligned with the value of your service.

A lot of builders start out targeting the SOM and stay there their whole career. It’s fairly low-effort to market to this segment as they’re usually already aware that your service exists and understand the value it brings. In this niche, you’re necessarily competing with other custom builders for the same business unless you have a very well-defined specialty.