My first frame, in other words, one year of work

Hello,

I have been building and restoring oldtimers for many years and it was time for something new.

One day I came across this old puch bicycle which is made in Austria. It was ready to be scraped, I picked it up and gave it a new life. Made about 5k km on it, several bike packing trips to Italy, but in the end it was a little bit too small for me.

So I decided to build my own bicycle, but I also wanted to build all the fixtures on my own.
In in the beginning it wasn’t that easy to find all the information, but I got it all figured out.

Here is my frame fixture that I build

Since I am going with disc brakes I needed some tools to mount the is tab

The next big tool was my chain stay, seat stay, unicrown fork fixture. Took some weeks to invent this thing but I am so happy how it came out. Such a universal fixture which is very easy to set up.

Then it was time for a nice fork fixture, I have built one a year ago, but it wasn’t that good for unicrown fixtures.

The fork turned out really good, I am so happy with the result

The frame took also in shape, but I had several issues. wanted to cold set the frame after welding and maybe I am a little bit too strong :smiley:

But I cut the DT ad inserted a new one and made the alignment before the final weld. Live and learn :stuck_out_tongue:

//kdDOk1VS0CDGId61eij7cKuynp7.jpeg)

I am pretty happy how everything went together, but for the next frame I would o some things different.
In the end I painted the whole thing and it looks amazing =)

So what do you think about my first bike?

You can also see more detailed pictures on my IG: Bastel_Mann

greetings Sebastian

17 Likes

Beautiful work, especially figuring it out by yourself.

2 Likes

Sorry, it’s time for me to bail on the forum.

3 Likes