Panda builds. Very amateur adventures

Heya guys. Im very much an amateur. I live in Tasmania, Australia. I come from a chemcial stainless fabrication history. Some years back i was hit with a very complex medical reaction and now rely on disabilty pension. I say this mainly to explain why im very slow at things, and why certain things are done the way they are. All work is done in my backyard shed, and aside from the tog welding, im self taught in the rest.

Ive been racing and riding my entire life. Across bmx, road mtb and track. When i got sick i was in my mid 30s and faced a life in a wheelchair. Certainly getting back on the bike was not in the stars. So as a form of rehab / mental engagement i set about trying to stay envolved in cycking through frame building. So far ive built 4 frames. Ive managed to get back on a bike, though my fitness limits my actual abilties lol. Anyways, enough back story, here is my latest build.

This is the first bike frame i built for myself. Its far from perfect. But so far she has shown no bad manners, hasnt collapsed in an angry ball of fire and thr position experiment seems to be paying off.

Due to some stuff wrong with my hips and back, i had reached the limit of what physical rehab i could work with to improve my range of movement. So i decided to try a steep 76 seat angl to place me further over the bb. Essentially the front was kept the same from my original positioning, with the idea being the forward position would help my hip cope.

The frame is made from coloumbus max tubing (mainly cos i have a proper soft spot for it after growing up track racing in the 90s ) and also included a change in bars from 40 to 36 wide.

That seems to be the limit of my uploads, but gives you an idea. I get very limited torch time and thats my biggest hurdle currently. Id love to be sble to get a few hoirs a day under the hood to really refine my welding, but these days ill go 6 months at a time without any welding lol.

6 Likes