Removing oxides formed during fillet brazing

As a fillet brazing frame builder, I often find myself having to clean up oxidized metal after the brazing process. I’m not sure how much of this is oxide formation is due to technique (e.g. heat control), the fact that I only use paste flux (no gas fluxer), or perhaps it’s just a normal part of the process and I can relax. Here’s what I’m talking about: the black areas around the braze. (This is not flux, by the way - the flux has been completely soaked off at this point.)

I’ve been doing this for ten years now and most of my brazed joints come out a lot cleaner than this, but it’s a good visual example of what I’m talking about. It’s difficult and time consuming to mechanically clean this hard oxide layer off down to bare metal. I’d be curious to hear any of your thoughts on this occurrence and how you deal with it.

HOWEVER, I seem to have stumbled upon something very interesting recently and I wonder if anyone here can explain or corroborate my experience. I was soaking my most recent frame in hot water, maybe 120F or so (to be clear, somewhat acidic water due to the dissolved flux content) and I started brushing at the oxidized spots with a brass brush (warm frame in warm water). The oxide layer came off easily after only a few strokes with the brass brush! I had a stainless bristle brush nearby, so I grabbed it thinking: harder bristles - this will be even faster, but no… the brass bristle took the spots off while the stainless brush did not. This got me thinking: is the black oxide layer cupric oxide? Is it reacting with the copper bristles in a chemical way? What is even happening here?

I am thinking of setting up a few experiments to compare different acids and different abrasives in a more controlled way to see what I learn. It kind of blew my mind that a brass brush would make quick work of a spot that would take much more time with a strip of 80-grit aluminum oxide shop roll.

6 Likes