3D printed bending die notes

Does anyone have any experience or examples of printing bending dies? I am hoping to hot rod a JD2 bender with a 3d printed tandem die (two tubes) to bend chainstays and seatstays in pairs

3D printed rolling dies by matthemaker
@matttemaker did some really cool stuff with a tube roller and printed dies

Interesting way to build a die:
3D printed base + plasma cut shell

Rebula MTB tube bender
Rebula successfully made a square bending die using a markforge printed die. The markforge printer embeds a carbon fiber strand in the plastic filament.

1 Like

I have some experience using 3D printed parts for bending tubes. I have made purpose-built dies to bend shaped tubing (shown below) and I am working on an FDM 3D printed/laser cut steel, heavily Cobra-and-mattthemaker-inspired bender that will allow me to bend CS and SS material in tandem. I’ll post pics of this when it is finished, hopefully in a few days.

I needed to bend a tapered CS at one point, so I made the following 3D printed “dies” that were sandwiched in steel plates and squashed in a vise. This worked for the single small bend I was trying to achieve, but would likely not work for any larger bends or too many more bends, as the forces seen at the ends of the die are large compared to the resilience of PLA. I made the CAD designs in Solidworks, I sliced the .stl’s in PrusaSlicer to have 6 vertical shells and a triangle infill (the strongest shape IMO) of 80%, and I printed the parts on my older Creality Ender 3 with black 1.75mm eSUN PLA+.

*New users of the forum can only upload one media item per post, so please excuse my bicycle-pubes-level photoshop collage.

This process *works* in situations like this where little else will, but I don’t recommend it outside of one-offs.

3 Likes

very cool! Was this a straight chainstay that you were able to add the bend to? If so, that is very impressive. As far as I can tell, the surfaces look great. Definitely post on your progress.