Ben’s Front triangles

Hi everyone! Here are some of my framebuilding projects from this past year. I’m a hobby builder and don’t sell anything I make.

They are straight gauge 4130 front triangles with the linkage and rear end from a Scott Gambler. Rear ends are either carbon or aluminum depending. I like the idea of a bit of chassis flex up front but stiff, light and precise out back.

I started tig welding and frame building last November and I’m really enjoying it! If you see something that I’m doing wrong then please let me know. I don’t really know what I’m doing and people are giving me tips all the time.

Here are some of the front triangles I made in the past year.

I thought my jig might be amusing for everyone…. This is a DH frame with a double bend seattube.

Fresh out the jig

DH bike with a 210mm dropper post and an Aenomaly Switchdrade. I want to pedal my DH bike sometimes?

I wanted to try my hand at some fancy seat clamp, shock mount, etc. ideas and this is what I came up with. Here are some pics of my enduro build.

Testing out the black one.

My wife is happy with her’s and didn’t ride her real DH bike all last year.

So, that’s where I’m at more or less. I like to play around with different geometry and kinematics currently but I would like to make a better jig and then make some rear ends too.

17 Likes

I was thinking yesterday “I should message Ben with a link for the forum”. Looks like you found it.

Thanks for thinking of me!

Hell yeah. This is rad!

Really stoked to see how you hold the pivot points with your jig.

Thanks @wzrd !
Just so you know, I look at your stuff all the time for ideas and inspiration!

Haha, that’s the best or worst part of my « jig. »
I hold the lower pivot in place with an Alu part I made on the lathe and it is held in the t-slot. The upper pivot is held in place with half of a crown from a Rock Shox Boxxer. I like to repurpose stuff and the Boxxer crown was a win for that.