Bending 1/2 inch tubing for seat stays

I’ve got a future project that needs the seatstays bent. Would something like this be possible?

It looks to be a 4” radius and says it’s made for thin wall 1/2” tubing. I plan on just buying straight gauge 1/2” tubing since the bike isn’t super fancy and I’m a beginner. I’m not a professional and am on a budget, so I’m just curious if it’s possible. Not if it’s a good idea. I’m full of bad ideas and I’m ok with that.

1 Like

Like usual, not speaking from experience here, but if you poke around Instagram there’s a few builders using pretty economical setups to bend seat stays. A 4" CLR is probably a bit tight, but if you can make a CLR somewhere in the ballpark of 10" work for your design you can get by with pretty basic tools.

Feather Cycles uses an old 700c rim:

Signal Cycles used a wood v-groove die:

Joel of Clockwork has a fancy looking bender, but the way it acts on the tube is very similar to a fork blade bender (v-groove die, lever arm that is eccentric to the CLR):

Joel’s dies are labelled as 10" CLR, so that’s where I got that value from. No idea what the minimum CLR is for a set up like this, but a fancy bender isn’t really required for SS’s unless you’re trying to get tight bends.

3 Likes

Thanks for posting that inspiration @photon ! crazy what you can do with a little creativity.

@Spencermon this has been the coolest bender mod I have seen:

@Seriousbicycles added a follow bar and a better “clamp” system

We have the same bender to do curved bridges. With thinner wall tubing (.035) you sometimes get some ripple artifacts on the inside of the bend. I think a follow-bar will mitigate that problem.

Pretty much everyone is using straight gauge rear ends! Its the “pro” thing to do!

4 Likes

I just use the shallowest of my three forkblade mandrels, with judicious hand pressure.

2 Likes