Colin's Trials and Tribulations with Bikes

Hey all! I recently discovered the forum and have enjoyed reading through the active discussions and build logs; it’s awesome to see people sharing their frame building experiences and great ideas/techniques.

I’m a university student in California and am fortunate enough to have access to some amazing machine shop equipment. I discovered frame building during my freshman year through an on-campus club and quickly fell down the rabbit hole. Below are some of the things I’ve made over the past 2 years.

Cargo bike (Spring 2021)

This was my first framebuilding project. School had transitioned to all-virtual, so my apartment garage became my workshop. I wanted something that would mostly obviate the need for a car (my town is pretty bike friendly), so a cargo bike was a natural choice. I salvaged the rear end from a Specialized Stumjumper and welded a rectangular box-section longjohn frame. I found Phil Vandelay’s video on DIY cargo bikes incredibly helpful and referred to it many times throughout the build process.

I did all of the tube mitering/prep using an angle grinder and benchtop drill press, and created a basic frame jig out of aluminum extrusion and 3D printed pieces. I can’t overemphasize how game-changing 3D printing was for creating fixture pieces and miter templates. Some photos are posted below:

Simple wheelbuilding stand I made from 3D printed parts + aluminum extrusion

Measuring the Stumpjumper frame

Cargo Bike Jig

Finished frame. Powdercoated in desert tan.

Full Suspension Bike (Summer 2021)
The on-campus machine shop reopened during the summer of 2021. I dove into a full-suspension bike build and learned how to use a manual lathe and mill to create frame components and welding fixtures.