Dropout Stay Connection

I’ve been fabricating my own dropouts from steel plates (sendcutsend), and am working on an updated design that allows 30mm of adjustment so I can play with my CS length.

In another thread there was a sub-conversation where @anon91558591 mentioned just butting the stays to the drops and welding. My previous design used a plate that acted like a hood for easy stay attachment (see photos), but Walt’s comment is making me think the added plate is redundant in terms of strength.

Can anyone comment on the the attachment shown in these renderings (red lines are weld areas)?

Should this be structurally sufficient? Note, I’m still a pretty crappy welder so structural redundancy is not a bad thing.

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

-Garth

IMG_4418

2 Likes

Should work great.

-Walt

3 Likes

Very very slick and simple design. I like it! I am assuming this is for a thru axle? I don’t see many examples of them being used with sliders. I wonder how hard you can crank down onto the axle…

The nut-style track dropouts have the advantage of having two bolts, so double the clamping force (in theory).

1 Like

On my track dropouts I added in some tabs that slot into the stays. I just cut the stays flush then the dropouts fit into the stays right off the laser, no cutting or filing needed.

2 Likes

I use bolt-on hubs. I have an old Chris King SS hub with fun bolts, and a newer Onyx SS hub with bolts. I don’t think a thru axle could get tight enough to keep it in place.

3 Likes

No experience with these dropouts, but surly’s use a through-axle with their sliders:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Surlybikefans/comments/o9u878/axle_slipping_with_horizontal_dropouts/

I am still looking for an application for these fancy diamond coated 3M friction shims. They make an M12 shim that is 13mm ID and 20mm OD.

They sent me some free M8

samples:

2 Likes