Easiest possible way of making a full sus mtb, looking for any insighs (guidelines for noob full sus builders)

Hello everyone
I am slowly trying to get around building my first full sus mtb. As I am a total noob to the topic I am looking for some help.

Things I know, is that I want to make it, in the simplest possible way, so it will be a straightforward single pivot, using a bsa BB as a main pivot. I do not want to go into discusion about suspension travel and geometry as this may vary, beetwen designs but I would like to know a few things I have totally no idea about. Here are some questions that are in my head at he moment:

-Is there a specific or desirable characteristic that a steel single pivot should have
-Is building it without a linkage software a good idea
-What are the most important guidelines I should go with
-Do you design one with a specific shock in mind? air vs spring
-Is there something, you should definitely avoid during designing a frame like this

Nothing more in my head right now but I am sure I’ll have many more problems as the discussion develops, wich I hope It will. Maybe It could transform Into a small guide for anyone wanting to start building full sus frames and feels overwhelmed by the topic.
Cheers

3 Likes

-Is there a specific or desirable characteristic that a steel single pivot should have

I recon somewhere between 110% and 130% anti squat. Depends on your riding style, for me 110% is fine, my wife needs more because she is a violent pedaler hahaha. with a single pivot try to get as much progression as you can, it probably wont be much but you don’t really need that much. if you get somewhere between 5-10% it should help.

-Is building it without a linkage software a good idea