Making a Sketch of a Full-Sus Frame in Fusion360

Hi,
I have a design for a full-sus in Linkage that I’d like to transfer onto a sketch in Fusion360. If anybody has experience doing this and would be willing to share their process, please do! I’m very new to this and it would help a lot.

Here’s how my process has been so far:

1. Import image of my design from Linkage into Fusion360 as a canvas

2. Click into Canvases > [image] > Calibrate and calibrate using the length of the shock

(image just for reference; I was more accurate than that while calibrating)

3. Create a front triangle using Daniel’s tutorial

(I messed up the headtube and have to fix that)

…and that’s it. If anyone would like to share any advice at all, please do. I would especially love to know how I can make a rear triangle, get bearing tolerances right, turn this into a technical drawing, and conduct structural analysis.

Thank you,
James

3 Likes

I create a suspension points sketch. Pull the X Y locations off the pivots in Linkage (hover over the pivot). All referenced off the bb.

9 Likes

Thanks for the help! Appreciate it.

Nice work! I haven’t had to design a full suspension in CAD yet, but I can give a few general tips:

When you are starting off in CAD, I think it’s both tempting and overwhelming to do everything in one shot.

A few examples:

• Even though I am very fluid with my CAD skills, I still do a lot of 2D hand sketching to visualize and conceptualize the 3D design.
  • For every 3D CAD I show people, I have probably already done 10 different versions and designs to try out different solutions

If I were going to build your design, my next step would probably be to design the rocker and link:

• the bearing size
  • the bearing seats
  • the pivot hardware
  • how the pivot hardware attached to the rear

That rocker and link will probably influence how you design your rear triangle.