What am I missing? Why haven't I seen this before?

Hi all,

I’m completely new to framebuilding/bicycle design. I’ve always wanted to build a frame, and have a dumb idea. Here’s it is:

• Split the BB in half, and put a chainring in the middle of a crank spindle
  • Mount a 1x12 cassette + rear derailleur in the middle of the front triangle
  • Run a single speed chain to the rear wheel

Frame Only

Drivetrain Demo

So my question is, what stupid mistakes am I making right now? Design isn’t finished yet, but I would love feedback on the idea, as well as holes poked in the design.

2 Likes

What are you trying to solve by doing that? You’ve increased total weight, CoG height, friction, complexity, cost, more points of potential failure from fatigue for no perceivable benfit.

3 Likes

This is like a way more complex version of the supre drive?

2 Likes

Nice CAD! In the class I taught, there was one rule: There are no dumb ideas.

Nick and I have had countless ideas that we thought were dumb, but we tried them out anyways. Most end up staying with dumb ideas, but the few that succeeded ended up being really innovative tech and workflows.

From my research, I found a few precedents:

Zerode G2:

This one has an Alfine hub mounted in the center of the frame

link: Seen at Sea Otter 2013 - Zerode G2 Gearbox Bike - Pinkbike

Starling Sturn V2

This has jack shaft that drives a high pivot suspension

Link: Starling Sturn V2 is a Single-Speed Jack Shaft-sporting High-Pivot Downhill Mountain Bike - Bikerumor

Trinity Racing:

Link: First Look & Interview: Trinity's Honda-Inspired Frame-Mounted Derailleur Drivetrain - Pinkbike

Honda gearbox bike

There was a really good video released last month about this bike, but got taken down. The mystery of the legendary bike continues: Honda RN-01 Gearbox Generation Explained - The Hub - Mountain Biking Forums / Message Boards - Vital MTB