29-er Gravel Bike with Boost Spacing - What Drivetrain?!

HI. I’m totally new here and not aware of the rules, so please feel free to correct me if I am making a mistake with posting this.

I have been thinking about a custom built gravel bike, which can take 29-er tyres, but also accomodate a 2x drivertrain. From what I can tell, the Salsa Cutthroat offers that option with a GRX Drivertrain. But I just cannot understand how it works? They use MTB boost spacing but a road cassette and what is essentially a road drivertrain. Isn’t that not supposed to work? What am I missing?

1 Like

I’m no expert and not familiar with the Salsa range, but GRX pushes the chainline out by 2.5mm over road groups to accommodate larger tyres. If Salsa have used Boost spacing then that should push chainline out by another 2.5mm over standard, as I understand it. Shimano road and MTB cassettes have the same inter-sprocket spacing and are interchangeable - it’s the hub spacing which determines the chainline. As long as you put your front mech on the same chainline as the rest of the drivetrain, it should all work fine.

1 Like

Thank you for the reply. So, let me see if I understand this. If the rear spacing is boost, and a mountain bike bottom bracket is used, it should work?

The Salsa bike uses Raceface cranks paired with Easton chainrings.
The published chainline for the Raceface cranks is ~52mm (I dunno what this means on a double though).

If the Raceface/Easton combo keeps the large chainring at 52mm, that’s ~3.5mm further out than the large chainring on the GRX (48.5mm for FC-RX820-2). And optimal for 148mm spacing.

FWIW, it seems like you might be slightly challenged fitting wide tires with a GRX crankset. The two big questions: “How big of tires?” “How long do you want the chainstays?”

Also consider that doing a 2x with wide tires on a gravel bike might move your Q-factor out. For me, that’s a no-go on road/gravel (but not an issue on MTB).

1 Like