Best CAD program to learn

I’ve been delaying this for a while and I think it’s time to buckle down and learn a CAD program and invest in a 3D printer as well. I’ve used On Shape a little and it seems okay, but what others are out there that everyone is using. I’ve heard of Fusion and FreeCAD too. I’m a noob.

Which program do I really need to get into?

Thanks.

3 Likes

I am probably the most biased person here, but Fusion 360 :rofl:

All CAD programs are the same at the level we are trying to use for bikes. The advantage is community support.

There is a good Solidworks threads going as well:

I think the elephant in the room is FreeCAD. Honestly, I have not had time to educate myself… But open source solutions are worth supporting. There seems to be a BikeCAD workflow pipeline as well. Does anyone know of anyone who uses FreeCAD to design a bike?

The tutorials I have seen are a bit dated and lacking:

1 Like

I find the file management in Fusion a little annoying, but that’s mostly because I’ve spent 25 years using bottom-up modelling software like Inventor and NX. For free use I quite like Siemens Solid Edge, which is completely free (and can be used without an internet connection) if you get the Community Edition.

1 Like

I use QCAD for simple 2D drawings, like for example if I need to have SCS cut something out of sheet metal.

I have used Sketchup both professional and now the online one for all my 3D printing needs, usually I am doing pretty simple stuff anyway.

I am learning F360 - thanks to Daniel - and I wish I could move all of my needs to F360, I’ll eventually get there someday.

I have paid for my college studies by being a drafter, talking Autocad of the early 2000s so I am comfortable on those kind of 2D Cad applications, QCAD is a close match to Autocad of yesteryear.

1 Like