Introduction Thread

Hey all! So stoked to be here, this is shaping up to be a great resource for the community. Big thanks to @Daniel_Y for getting it up and running!

Thought it would be nice to get an introduction thread going - feel free to share whatever you’re comfortable with, a good starting point would be:

• Who you are and where you’re located
  • What you enjoy building
  • What you enjoy riding
  • What you’re excited about learning
  • A little bit about your background
8 Likes

Starting off, I’m Eva (she/her/hers) - I founded Liberation Fab last year-ish and just moved across the country from Seattle, WA to Pittsburgh, PA. I’m pretty new to building frames, but am really enjoying the process and have benefitted immensely from all the knowledge shared by folks I recognize on this forum.

I’m trying to avoid sliding into a niche for the time being, but I’m very drawn to building bikes that enable folks to extend their abilities through cycling. Whether that’s a bike designed for long-distance touring or car-free trips to the grocery store, it warms my heart to see folks using bikes to accomplish more than they could without one.

My “athletic” background is in mountaineering and climbing and I love cycling trips that feel similar to that. Long distances rides over varied or unknown terrain that are remote and self-supported are my happy place. But bopping around the city running errands is how I spend 95% of my time in the saddle.

I’m really excited about learning all the ancillary things that come with building frames - currently I’m deep in anatomy research so I can be more intentional with what a size run of frames would look like. Uriel at Austere has also gotten me way too stoked on lean manufacturing, I’ve been thinking a lot about how that could apply to frame building.